Today was a Good Day

…or yesterday was a good day (depending on when you read this).

You ever had a day where everything just seemed to go right? What’s the opposite of Murphy’s Law?

Today I handed my dissertation in to my committee on instruction and I set a tentative date to defend my thesis. Right now it’s set in pencil for May 12th. It’s been a long time coming. I’ve been in school for 7 years post undergraduate education. There were so many times I thought that I picked the wrong career path and I was just wasting my time. I doubted myself plenty of times. Today I listed to J. Cole’s The Warm Up mixtape and the intro stood out to me.

“Yeah…You ever prayed for something your whole life? I mean, all you dreamed about was this one thing. I mean, you know it’s coming. You have faith and all that. But sometimes…Sometimes you second guess yourself. That’s human nature, I suppose, second guessing…When life seems to take you through more downs than ups. Seems like it gives you more losses than wins. But do you stand tall and be bold? Or do you fold? Do you believe? See, me, I came a long way. Way too far for me to stop now. Not that I would stop anyways but…I’m so close, I can feel it…Can you feel it?”

I think I’ve narrowed down my list of cities where I will be living next. They are DC, New York or Newark. The cities are listed in preferential order in which I would like to live. Wherever I move to will be an upgrade from Nashville. It’s going to be a big change when I move but change isn’t always a bad thing. “Change brings opportunity.”  Nido Qubein

Today I also received the gallery proofs for my publication. There’s something about seeing your name in print that’s great. On a semi related note, why does it cost so much to publish? $100 per page just seems a little steep to me. Thank goodness my PI picked up the tab. My CV is starting to fill out.

My dad called me today. Well he called me 4 times. When I finally got a chance to call him back he was just making sure I was ok because he heard of some tornadoes that might be passing through tonight. Here’s the thing about Nashville weather. Since spring started here’s how a typical week goes by (weather wise). Monday- bright and sunny, high of 85. Tuesday- not even a tornado watch but several tornado touch downs. Wednesday- overcast skies and a high of 50. Thursday- rainy, cloudy and humid. Friday- bright and sunny with a high of 80. I really can’t deal with Nashville’s weather too much longer.

22 thoughts on “Today was a Good Day

  1. Brittany Carter

    Keep your head up…you all are great role models! Looking at you guys and my sis(Shemika)and how long you all have been in school encourages me to continue to push. This will all pay off,especially for you as a successful black man! Good blog!

    Reply
  2. *OnlyYolie*

    Tunde… congratulations on all your successes… its nice to hear when anyone has one of those days when everything seems to go your way… wishing you all the very best

    Reply
  3. That Damn African

    Congrats dude. Always great to see someone reaching their goals.

    Just finished up my second year and I’ve already had my fair share of doubting myself and feeling like I picked the wrong career. But I know this is what I want. Gonna keep pushing myself to get to where you are. Can’t do anything but trust that God won’t give me more than I can bare.

    Reply
  4. BP

    Congrats Tu! God is good! I am very proud of you and your hard work. I hope you ignite a fire in others to achieve their goals as well.

    Reply
  5. Jasmaine

    Very proudof you Tunde….I remember on PP you speaking about school and your hopes and dreams… And now .. It’s here! As Kenny Loggins sang : “This is it!” 🙂

    Reply
  6. mdc

    ::steps out of lurkdom:: congratulations! i finished my phd program last year; submitting the completed draft is the best day EVAH. for me, it even topped the defense and hooding ceremony. i’m so jealous that you are escaping TN. i’m here for the foreseeable future (moved here in july and i’m thinking about exit strategies…just in case lol).

    Reply
  7. MilanRouge

    Congrats, Fave. Good luck to you in the defense of your thesis. You know your work better than anyone. Just speak what you know and you’ll be alright. Prayers up. 😉

    Reply
  8. Starita34

    You ever had a day where everything just seemed to go right? What’s the opposite of Murphy’s Law?”
    God’s Favor.

    Congratulations! This is TOO exciting. All that work! Wrapped up in one $100 a page document. Way to go man, I’m sure your family is very proud, I don’t know you and I am.

    Reply
  9. redlady821

    This post gave me hope and inspiration. I’m very proud of your accomplisments so far. You are at the finish line. Go hed with your bad self!

    P.S. Newark? Don’t do it. Trust me when I tell you that you won’t like it.

    Reply
  10. N.I.A.naturally

    Congratulations homey!! The best is yet to come…

    Newark? I can honestly say you are the first person I’ve ever heard say they want to move to Newark. How about Chicago? Or, are you trying to stay east?

    Reply
  11. gemmieboo

    congrats on turning in your dissertation!!! thats sooooo great!!!!!! im so happy for you!!! i cant wait to follow your lead (mine probably won’t be until closer to fall/winter).

    and congrats on the paper!!!!! publishing is awesome isn’t it??? i dont even have a first author paper yet but its just around the corner (damn these last couple experiments that are taking forever to finish up). i cant wait to look up your paper on pub med 😉

    i wish you all the best in your future endeavors homes!! you’ve worked hard and we’re all very proud of you. (im sure Ash is gonna miss you doe lol)

    Reply
    1. MadScientist7

      Thanks Gem… 🙂

      the paper actually went up on pubmed on monday. i feel you on those last couple of experiments. it took me like 3 months to try to get this ubiquitin data to drop and finally i said forget it and submitted my paper without it. and damn if it didn’t get accepted anyway. and then 2 weeks later the experiment finally works. -_-

      yeah ashley tries to be tough but i know she’s gonna cry when i leave lol

      Reply
  12. Pingback: 2011 Recap « The Native Son

Leave a Reply

