The Alchemist

(perhaps I shouldn’t be writing this post while I’m drunk)

Today is the day I became a doctor. I never really thought that this day would come. Coincidentally, I just finished reading The Alchemist not too long ago on the recommendation of LaLa. If you haven’t read this book I seriously suggest that you pick up a copy and read it. My copy is highlighted all the way through which attests to the book being hailed as a classic. Its speaks a lot of a person’s Personal Legend.

“Treasure is uncovered by the force of flowing water, and it is buried by the same currents.”

“Every blessing ignored becomes a curse.”

“It was shepherds who were the first to recognize a king that the rest of the world refused to acknowledge.”

“Everyone on Earth has a treasure that awaits him,” his heart said. “We, people’s hearts, seldom say much about those treasures, because no longer want to go in search of them. We speak of them only to children. Later, we simply let life proceed, in its own direction, towards its own fate. But, unfortunately, very few follow the path laid out for them- the path to their Personal Legend, and to happiness.”

This book had a great story and a great lesson. As I was reading the book I was concurrently finishing up my program and ironically heading toward my personal legend. If my last post was a good day then today was an excellent day. All glory be to God for laying out my path and leading me down it.

Thank you to everyone who was able to attend my thesis defense, who will party with me tonight, who will be at graduation next week, who was there in spirit and who wanted to be there.

*********************************

******For everyone who will be in DC Memorial Day weekend, Spartan Model 2 and I will be partying at K Street Lounge celebrating our graduations (She just got her MBA). Come out and lets make it do what it do. ******

12 thoughts on “The Alchemist

  1. *OnlyYolie*

    oh i am so very, very happy and proud of you!! ★✬ⒷⒾⒼ ★✬ⓊⓟⓈ on your ⓟⓗⒹ★✬ ★✬ⒷⒾⓇⓉⒽⒹⒶⓎ★✬.. it’s great to see/hear of people doing amazing things… wishing you continued success in all your endeavors no where to go but ☝

    ☙C♕NGRATULATI♂NS

    Reply
  2. Euphoric Ears

    Congrats! *breaks out book journal*

    Some of my fav quotes:

    “Then, we warrios of light must be prepared to have patience in difficult times and to know that the Universe is conspiring in our favor, even though we may not understand how.”

    “But when he though to complain about the burden of its weight, he remembered that, because he had the jacket, he had withstood the cold of the dawn.”

    “The problem is that they don’t even realize that they’re walking a new road everyday. They don’t see that the fields are new and the seasons change. All they think about is food and water” In this passage he was talking about sheep, but often times we humans behave just like them

    Reply
    1. madscientist7 Post author

      “But when he though to complain about the burden of its weight, he remembered that, because he had the jacket, he had withstood the cold of the dawn.”

      i remember this one. that was a good one. 😀

      Reply
  3. Squeak

    This is the fifth recommendation for the Alchemist that I’ve gotten. I’m gonna pick it up. Congrats Bro.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

