Bullies

I looked nervously at the clock. 10:23am. I really wish this day would last forever. I swallowed and felt a lump in my throat and my stomach was starting to get queasy. I wish I were home in bed. Maybe if I could fake a stomachache and get my mom to pick me up early I could avoid what I knew was coming this afternoon.

My thoughts were interrupted by a swift kick to the back of my chair. I turned around and David was staring me right in the eyes. “When we get off the bus you’re gonna get fucked up.” I immediately turned around. My heart was beating a million times a minute. I don’t understand why David and his friends didn’t like me. The only thing I could determine was that they didn’t like me because I was different. The only African kid in class they didn’t like the fact that I excelled academically.

Now David and his friends, Brian and Ryan, told me at the bus stop that if I didn’t let them copy off my math test then they were going to beat me up. For some reason I couldn’t do it. I didn’t like David or the twins. They were always picking on me and calling me names like “African booty scratcher” and “Tarzan”. They would constantly talk about my name and they always hit me. So why should I do them a favor and let them copy off me? No doubt they failed their test, as was the norm. I heard the twins say that if they didn’t do well on this math test then their mom wasn’t going to buy them the new Jordans. “Good” I thought. I never had a pair of Jordans or brand name shoes for that matter and I had excellent grades. I couldn’t understand how they always had new clothes and shoes when they failed most of their classes.

The bell rung to let us out of 3rd period and David rushed past me out in the hallway. As I walked out into the hallway I saw a fist flying towards me. David punched me square in the gut. I doubled over in pain trying my hardest to catch my breath. A crowd surrounded us yelling, “fight! fight! fight!” As I managed to quickly catch my breath my third period teacher came out the classroom and everyone dispersed leaving me standing there. “What is going on out here?” she said.

“Nothing Mrs. Strickman. The guys were just playing around.” I knew that if I snitched then my situation wouldn’t get any better. I would have to just hope that the punch to the gut would be enough to satisfy David.

I soon learned at lunch that David and his crew had no intentions of letting things go. My friend Nancy came and sat beside me in the lunchroom.

“Why didn’t you just let them copy your test?” she inquired

“Cuz they should have studied. Besides, they’re not even my friends.” I responded.

“But now they want to fight you. They’re telling everyone that they’re going to jump you when we get off the bus.” she told me.

“At this point, I don’t even care anymore.”

The rest of the day was a blur. I looked at the clock. 3:30pm

I drudged my way from class to the bus while the lump in my throat grew bigger and bigger by the minute. I don’t even remember the bus ride home. It seemed it took mere seconds for our bus to reach the bus stop.

I got off the bus and David was waiting for me.

“Why didn’t you let us copy your test?”

“Because I didn’t want to. You’re not my friend. You should have studied.”

Someone pushed me from behind into David and a right fist came across my eye. Blinded by pain I was momentarily stunned. Another blow came to the back of my head. That blow caused me to drop to my knees. I felt something warm on the back of my neck. As I touched the back of my neck I felt moisture and immediately I knew I had been cut. I was hit in the back of the head by a two by four.

“Stop it!” I heard voices screaming in the background

I saw Ryan holding the two by four and he cocked it back ready to swing. I tried to rise to my feet but I wasn’t quick enough. The piece of wood came crashing against my temple. Everything went black.

I don’t know how long I was unconscious but when I came to I was in an ambulance and there were paramedics over me. The looks in their eyes let me know that there was something terribly wrong. I lost consciousness again. I never woke up again.

Bullying is something that needs to be addressed. It happens too often and too many people turn the blind eye to it.

Never Forget. Derrion Albert.

www.dosomething.org

5 thoughts on “Bullies

  1. Wu Young, Agent of M.E.

    I remember talking about Derrion Albert’s murder and the various other murders of school-aged kids in Chicago with Moneypenny last right after it happened. We talked about how bullies, like other predators, have evolved almost as if they were just any other animal.The only difference is that bullies today seem to insert technology into the equation when it comes to stalking and tormenting their prey.

    I always wondered, even as a kid, what goes on in the mind of a person who goes down that path. What happens for this to seem “okay”? I fully agree that something needs to be done because the murder of kids like Albert or the suicides of other kids has no place in adolescence.

    Reply
    1. madscientist7 Post author

      a lot of bullies are insecure about something so they attempt to deflect attention away from themselves onto anyone who is different. they usually pick someone who is different because that will ensure others join in on their bullying or at the very least say nothing in opposition.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

