2011 Recap

***I came across a couple of blog posts earlier that I found pretty interesting. SkinnyBlackGirl and Sowhatiff did 2011 recaps (click their name to see their recaps) so I decided to jack their steez and do my own 2011 recap.***

2011 was a great year for me. I had way more highlights and breakthroughs than setbacks. I had good days and I had bad days. I thank God that 2011 was good to me and I’m praying 2012 I will receive just as many blessings if not more.

Last year I brought in New Years in Gatlinburg, TN in a cabin. I had an awesome weekend which included lots of drinks, hottub foolishness, movies, shopping, games, etc. I did get really sick. Hopefully this doesn’t happen again this New Years. Matter of fact I know it won’t happen because I won’t be drinking (as much).

I dated a couple of women in 2011. A lot fell by the wayside. That’s dating though. You find out what you like versus what you don’t like and I definitely found out what I don’t like. Either way I have a feeling 2012 will bring me more stability as far as dating is concerned now that I know what it is that I want.

After 7 years I finally defended my thesis in May and received my PhD in Biomedical Research with a concentration in Cancer Biology. I don’t think I’ve worked for anything that hard in my life. In 7 years I could have gotten 3 more degrees but now I know why the PhD is considered a terminal degree (no degree higher).

I kicked in it New Orleans with my PCs (Kurt and Ashley) for Mardi Gras and Essence. Good times were had by all. Daiquiris and Crown were flowing like water. Planking on Canal Street was done. Cookouts, cookouts and cookouts. Day parties, night parties. Crown for breakfast. Looking forward to this grill off we have coming up during Mardi Gras. I plan on taking the title.

I learned the true meaning of friendship this year. I was never really one to throw out the title friend candidly. Even with that my number of friends have dwindled and I’m actually happy with that. I don’t have time for people who in my life who don’t know the meaning of loyalty and have ulterior motives. I’m thankful for the true friends that I do have.

I volunteered a lot of my time this year. I participated in book drives, highway cleanups, canned food drives, I donated blood, I helped in hurricane relief. Its always a good feeling to give back.

I got my first real job out of school in a city people would love to live in. Nothing against Nashville but after 7 years there I was looking to move to a city that is more progressive and it doesn’t get any more progressive than New York. In a time of recession I’m thankful I was able to get a great job.

One of my best friends got married this year. I was so happy to be a part of his union to his wife. A lot of dudes don’t really talk about things like this even though they may feel like it but I genuinely love love.

I’ve met some really cool people in NYC in the few short months I’ve been here. I had an awesome birthday party. I finally was able to play in a couple basketball leagues (5 to be exact) and I have an awesome roommate. Looking at you @Ni_Ti. Being in NYC, I’m closer to DC which means I’m closer to my fam. I get to see my parents, siblings, nieces and nephews more often which is a blessing in itself.

All in all 2011 was awesome. I thank God again for being able to see another year. 2012, we in there.

7 thoughts on “2011 Recap

  1. Pingback: Mini Blog: Time to ring in the Mayan Apocalypse! | I Am Your People

  2. Megan

    Sounds like you had a helluva year! Congratulations on all of your accomplishments Tunde. I pray that in 2012 you accomplish more than you can imagine 🙂 much love!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

