Cruel Summer

Last summer was one of great transition. I finally finished school after being there my whole life and I moved across the country. The only drawback was that I didn’t get to fully enjoy my summer. With worrying about my move I didn’t get to take a vacation. Also, I arrived to New York until August so I didn’t get to experience a NYC summer. Even my white linen beach party was thrown into flux due to a faux hurricane.

When I started to complain of how much I wasn’t really feeling people would tell me that I have to experience a NYC summer. There’s nothing like it they would say. You’ll love it, there’s so much to do they would describe. Based on that I was excited in May (because NYC has the shortest summer I’ve ever experienced) when the weather finally started to break.

Now that the season is unofficially over allow me to reflect back on my first NYC summer. I won’t say that it was all bad but it wasn’t as great as people made it out to seem. I had some highlights and I had some lowlights. Overall my best experiences were had outside of the city.

•I moved from Harlem to Brooklyn. While I was sad that my roommate was leaving the city I was able to find an equally nice apartment for a fraction of the cost.

•My boss took the month of July off and went to China. While the cat is away the mice will play. I still got my work done but I took full advantage of not having to come in.

•If you follow me on twitter or 4square you may notice that I spent a lot of time in Pittsburgh this summer. I met (well not really met) a wonderful woman and after about 2 years of being single I finally decided to commit again. Without getting to sappy she really made my summer awesome.

•I was supposed to go on a group trip (about 12 people) to Cancun this summer but one by one people kept dropping like flies. Since I missed a vacation last summer I wasn’t going to be denied this summer. Two words people. “All Inclusive”. It’s the way to go.

•While I was in grad school I came home maybe once or twice a year because of the demands of grad school and the distance. I can get home on the bus in 3.5 hours and $30RT. This summer I think I visited home 5 different times. I had great times.

•As far as my experiences in NYC I know I’m getting older because the thought of going to parties and being in a crowd is not appealing. I did check out many happy hours and tap houses.

•I played in 4 different leagues this summer. I had the dunk of my life in the Rodney Park league (great outdoor courts off Marcy Ave). Imagine Pippen stepping over Ewing but mine was a 2 hand banger. I need to find some fall leagues and a gym membership.

Other than those highlights my summer was kind of bland as to what I expected it to be. I know some people had a worse summer experience so I won’t. complain. I read a lot of good books this summer, I drank high quality whiskey and scotch and got a chance to spend time with my family. All in all I can’t say it was too bad.

As we close out the summer, how was your experience? Come to the front and tell the class what you did this summer.

9 thoughts on “Cruel Summer

  1. Sayo O.

    This summer was actually quite humbling for me.

    I had been stuck at a dead end job for nearly 3 years and decided on a whim that I couldn’t take it anymore. I applied for an internship (unpaid) with an IT firm in Baltimore, got notice I was accepted after a qualification exam, and put in my resignation that Thursday for final work day of that Friday.

    That was 16 weeks ago. Since then, I have learned an incredible amount through the internship, but the lack of income really limited all other activities for the summer, and put into perspective that if I was going to make this transition for my peace of mind, the pay would be well worth the sacrifice.

    I still have yet to see a check, but will be looking to transition to full-time employment as a software developer in about another month. The satisfaction of coming into a place where I can enjoy what I do really showed me what was important in life, and as long as I can help it, my priority will always be to do work that I love.

    I also learned that help can come from the strangest places, and that an open mind opens opportunities, as my survival for the past 4 months has been largely dependent on being able to find resources in the strangest places and in the most unlikely people.

    Now that I think about it, I may remember this summer the rest of my life.

    Reply
    1. MadScientist7

      i know that this may not be something that you want to hear because i don’t like to be told the same but sometimes you have to earn your stripes. when you’re successful you’ll look back at this summer and be grateful for it. good luck on the job search cuz.

      Reply
      1. Sayo O.

        Thanks for the well-wishes. The internship transitions directly to full-time employment with the firm after 20 weeks, so it’s right around the corner (relatively).

        As for looking back and being grateful, your post actually caused me to do a bit of reflection. This wasn’t the best summer in terms of leisure, but getting to work a job I love more than made up for it, not to mention what I’m setting up for in the future.

  2. Muze

    seems everyone is writing end of summer posts, i see. lol. i was all prepared for THEE summer, too. and it was cool, but mostly the people who were in it made it more memorable than the location. i won’t drone on about my summer since i just posted it on my blog. lol.

    good post. and i’m sooooo happy you guys are happy. yay!

    Reply
    1. MadScientist7

      lol just looked thru my reader and saw you did a post too. bout to check that out now. i think we were bamboozled. i also thought that i would meet more ppl in the city this summer but that surely didn’t happen. *shrug* i think i spend too many hours in the lab.

      thanks muze!

      Reply
  3. oktobersfynest

    I think my summer is like yours now. Trying to write my dissertation, set up defense date, pack up + move to new location (while simultaneously not ready to enbace the expenses) finding a new place to live and dealing with the fact I didn’t get to take a real vacation (I went to DC in June but it’s not my ideal vacay spot). Happy and stressed at the same time.

    Reply
  4. Wu Young, Agent of M.E.

    Congrats on the progress. My summer has been a rollercoaster.

    On one end I’ve finally returned to my fighting weight and dropped the 15 to 20 lbs that fell off of a truck and right on to me. I’m in better shape and glad.

    My Mom’s health has been a constant bug-a-boo since April and with every piece of progress seems to come more bad news and stress.

    I’ve manage to fight off depression’s latest advances with out bending or breaking. I just slammed the door.

    I started writing my book again too. I’ve used it as an outlet and a way to just deal with the rubish happening outside.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

