Raindrops against my window pane

I set my alarm clock for 6:45 every weekday morning. Unless I have an early morning meeting I usually don’t get out of bed until 7-7:15 so I can lull about while watching MSNBC, CNN or SportsCenter. This morning when my alarm clock went off I turned it off on purpose instead of hitting snooze. I didn’t wake up again until 7:45.

It wasn’t as if I was dead tired because I went to bed at a decent hour last night. Today is a stormy, windy, rainy day in Brooklyn. Don’t know the exact weather in the city because I’m still on the train on the way to work. As I laid back to sleep I could hear the steady beating of rain against my window pane. I have a tree right outside my window so I could also hear the gentle scraping of branches against my window.

There are two distinct moods that weather like this puts me in. Neither of them are getting up and going to work. I want to discuss one of those moods. This morning I felt very pensive and wistful. This happens most times when it storms and I’m alone.

At 7:45 I laid in bed and daydreamed about a multitude of things of which I won’t go into detail here. I will say that rain has a way of making me think about life. I thought long and hard this morning about how far I’ve come and where I want my life to go.

I thought about the people who have come into my life and left for whatever reasons. I thought about the people who have been there for as long as I can remember. I thought about family and friends. I prayed to God for direction and understanding. By the time I got up to take a shower and brush my teeth I felt as strong sense of calmness.

Although, I’m super late for work I feel great and I’m not rushing. I love rainy mornings.

3 thoughts on “Raindrops against my window pane

Leave a Reply

