I’m sleep tho

Sleep is the best meditation.
Dalai Lama

Yesterday I laid down around 7:30-8pm and told myself I would sleep for only a hour before I got ready to meet my boys to do something since my friend will be leaving next weekend for a 6 month dental externship in Omish country. I woke up a little past midnight. I find myself sleeping a lot more and I’m ok with that. I’ve always been one to value sleep.

In grad school I lived two blocks from campus and I would frequently take lunch breaks to come home and take a nap. People would ask me how was able to get up at 5am everyday to go to the gym. Its easy when you go to bed at 11pm. I’d rather go to bed early than lose out on sleep time. There are few things more important to me than sleep. I see people who drink 5-6 cups of coffee or drink energy drinks everyday in order to be productive. My solution would just be get more sleep.

Monikers like “rise and grind” and attitudes that people who sleep a lot don’t have the hustle necessary to be successful are lost on me. I think I’m somewhat successful and I get at least 7-8 hours of sleep a night. It allows me to function with a clear mind. I don’t see anything appealing about walking around like a zombie because I got 2 hours of sleep the night before. Also, drinking large amounts of caffeine don’t appeal to me either.

So I do what comes natural. I sleep. I’m already thinking about this nap I’m going to take once I leave lab.

4 thoughts on “I’m sleep tho

  1. Sope'

    Let me please quote @GemoftheOcean when I say, “EXCLAMATION POINT” to this whole post. I’m in grad school now and people love to have sleep struggle competitions.
    Person 1: “I went to bed at 4am.”
    Person 2: “Oh really? I went to bed at 5am. What about you Sope’?”
    Me: “Oh word? I went to bed at 10:30pm.”
    Them: (O_O)
    I like sleep, and when I get it, I’m able to beast on all those fools who are up all manner of the night.

    I’m up at 5:45am everyday, in the gym by 6 and back in my room by 7:15am. By the time I get to class at 9am, I’ve done more with my day than the majority of my classmates. If #TeamNoSleep works for them (which it doesn’t if they are living off Redbull, but whatever) then God’s speed. For me and my house, we shall be in bed my 11pm.

    People can have all that night owl business. If I’m up at 2am I better be filled w/alcohol, dancing, or both, lol.

    Reply
  2. gemmieboo

    i love sleep but i dont get it much these days. my body seems to be rejecting it. or maybe its saying i dont need as much as i used to?? i cant tell. either way, i miss being able to sleep at will for as long as i like 😦

    Reply
  3. Lioness Rising

    Ironic that you write this today because my mom just did a sleep study and found out she has a sleep disorder. I knew she had some issues but I didn’t know how it effects you entire body. My mom was always talking about how she was tired and I just told her stop working so much etc. Now I find out lack of sleep and not sleeping effectively can enlarge your heart, cause memory loss, stroke etc.

    I used to be one of those to stay up late but its not worth it, you are not missing anything. I’m really trying to change so now I go to sleep at 11:30/12 instead of 2 or 3.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

