I am my brother’s keeper

At 2am yesterday morning Torrey Smith got a phone call that I pray I would only get in my worst nightmare. His younger brother, Kevin Smith, was killed in a motorcycle accident. There was no alcohol involved and he was wearing a helmet. I have three younger brothers and I can’t imagine what life would be like if I lost any of them. I have brothers who are twins that are 20 months younger than I. Growing up we attended the same elementary and high schools. I was even college roommates with one of my brothers. Although I’m 9.5 years older than my youngest brother I’m still close with him as well. While my parents worked nights for a stretch it was my responsibility to get up early in the morning to make sure he was ready and on the way to school. I did this before I got ready for school myself.

This is why I have tremendous respect and feel a great deal of empathy towards Smith. Just like a parent shouldn’t bury their children I feel like older siblings should go to glory before younger siblings. I haven’t had to deal with the death of someone that close to me but I know if I did I wouldn’t reporting to work that day or even that week. That’s essentially what Smith did last night. Not only did he show up to work he put IN work. The Ravens exacted revenge for their playoff loss to the Patriots in the AFC Championship game by winning 31-30. Smith’s stat line from last night looked like this:

6 catches, 127 yards and 2 touchdowns.

Now compare that to his stat line for the season:

4 catches, 107 yards and 0 touchdowns.

I’ll admit that even I got a little emotional as Smith caught his first TD. I joked around before the game that Ray Lewis is going to be a pastor when he retires but his post game comments about going through storms before God brings blessings rang so true.

My prayers definitely go out to the Smith family for their loss.

3 thoughts on “I am my brother’s keeper

  1. gemmieboo

    i had no idea about Smith’s brother – how unfortunate 😦

    i am the youngest of 5. and having one of my older brothers pass was very difficult to deal with. i cant imagine losing a YOUNGER sibling. either way, its hard to see some one pass so soon.

    its awesome Smith was able to beast out yesterday – im sure he did it for his brother. may God bless him and his family during this tough time.

    good post!

    Reply
    1. madscientist7 Post author

      what’s even worse is the new england fan who trolled torrey smith. she tweeted him that he should call his brother to tell him about the win. -________-

      ppl found her linkedin page, where she went to school and where she works now and put her on blast. crazy thing is she went to school and works in baltimore.

      i feel you on the older siblings as well. you’ve met my older sister. if i lost her i would be just as lost. i thank God everyday that i haven’t had to deal with a death in my immediate family yet.

      Reply
  2. miss t-lee

    This hits home a bit. I lost my step-brother back in ’97. I’d only known him a few years, since his mom and my Dad got married, but in those 4/5 years we had gotten extremely close. He always seemed to have a lot more time and patience for me, unlike my other older brother. He’d grown up as an only child, so to suddenly have siblings at 23–it was a whole new world.
    He died unexpectedly of an aneurysm at 27. The anniversary of his death was about 3 weeks ago.
    I have 3 other siblings that I’m extremely close to. I don’t want to know what it would feel like to lose them, and I pray that I don’t.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

