All good things must end…

or do they?

This concludes my 30for30 series. 30 days and 30 posts later I’m glad to say I accomplished it. I won’t even say that it was trying because I actually enjoyed being for forced to write. That combined with the fact that I hate quitting something once I’ve started made me stick with it. Today I’ll be discussing other points in my life where I was steadfast and finished something I started.

I remember it like it was yesterday. When I started pledging I remember the first time someone out their hands on me. Maybe I dreamed that because hazing is illegal. Either way I resolved that no matter what I had started it and I would “see it through” (shout out Edgar A. Guest). Twenty-one weeks later I did but I’d be lying if I said there weren’t times where I wanted to quit. Seeing all my friends having fun and enjoying their spring break and semester really got to me. I’m happy I stuck with it though. It was one of the hardest things I had to do in my life.

Two years later I would embark upon another challenge that was just as difficult but in another way. I started my PhD program. As a bright-eyed, enthusiastic and ambitious twenty year old I was so excited about moving to a city where I only knew one person. I planned on finishing my program in four years even though the average completion time was 6-8 years. I was quickly hit with a reality check in terms of how political an academic program could be. Also, the allure of moving to the south and so far away from my family started to wane. To add insult to injury friends of mine who had pursued more traditional, structured graduate programs (medicine, law, etc) were graduating and landing their dream jobs. I’d be lying if I said I didn’t think about dropping out but then I remembered “don’t quit”. I finished in seven years.

So I do have the ability to see things through to completion. Sometimes to my advantage and sometimes to my detriment.

3 thoughts on “All good things must end…

  1. MissUnderstood

    Umm…hi. I’m new here (lol), but great post! I thought about crossing, but heard the horror stories and stayed away. Ironically, I was considering pursuing a PhD, but I think I’m going to wait it out after my professors’ advice and this post. Lookiing forward to reading the others.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

