How I became a jaded man (VI)

When I started this series I was worried that by writing it I would come off as an innocent bystander who had no fault in how things progressed and ultimately ended. I definitely shouldered my fair share of deceitfulness, stubbornness and spitefulness. I didn’t include those things because that’s not what made a jaded man. In fact I would go as far to say that most of the things that I left out that played into the demise of my relationship were reactionary. I now know that that’s no way to maintain a relationship of any kind. Two wrongs never add up to a right. As much angst that I endured I’m glad for one thing.

I learned what bullshit not to put up with from a woman. If I were a woman I would be given the cliché advice that I would have to kiss a few frogs to find my prince. No one thinks about the effect of a really bad experience can have on a man. Before that relationship I was still naïve and wet behind the ears when it came to dealing with women. I learned that all women aren’t innocent and they are capable of manipulating and cheating. Not because they aren’t getting enough attention or because they don’t feel connected to the person they are with. Just like men they can stray just because they want to and they have the opportunity.

At the end of the last post I said that was the end of things with Stacey but I wasn’t entirely truthful. As with most matters of the heart clean breaks rarely occur. That summer after going back and forth a couple of times with what accounted to nothing more than throwback sex and arguing. One day out of the blue she asked me “Why is it that some people in your fraternity won’t date a woman if she previously dated someone in the same fraternity?” Knowing our history I should have known how loaded that question was but given our status I told myself I didn’t care.

Eventually we drifted further and further apart until we eventually stopped talking all together. I would eventually see her around campus since her laboratory was in a different building. I was pretty sure she was dating other people as I definitely was taking advantage of my newfound singleness. Nashville isn’t that big of a city and it’s even smaller when you only take into account young black professionals. Eventually I found out that she was dating one of my frat brothers who had moved to the Nashville area whom I had known before I moved there. When I found out I was so indifferent to the news that I might as well have been reading it in a newspaper about a complete stranger. That’s when I knew I was truly over with her. One of our classmates keeps me updated with (unsolicited) updates on her life. She told me that Stacey was engaged (and I’m assuming she’s now married) to my frat brother. I guess most would say she won.

As I said earlier in this post I learned what not to accept from a woman in regards to my own happiness and pride but I also learned what I actually wanted in a woman. While I still did what a lot of jaded men do (read: be a man whore and in turn hurt other women) I knew what it was I wanted in a woman. My story is far from over but I’ve found happier times. Today I truly believe I have found what I’ve been looking for. Everything that I know I don’t want in a woman she doesn’t exude. Everything that I discovered I’ve desired in a woman including honesty, loyalty, and sensitivity I’ve found in her. I’m finally genuinely happy and I can see myself being happy with her for a long time. In the end I won. I’ve realized that I wasn’t really naïve or wet behind the ears. I loved a woman and when you truly love a person you open up yourself to be hurt. It’s the risk you take when you trust someone with your heart. If you can make one heap of all your [feelings], And risk it on one turn of pitch-and-toss, And lose, and start again at your beginnings… I’m older and wiser but I’m right back where I was before but I understand that it’s all about the chances you take.

Thanks for reading how I became a jaded man who is no longer jaded. Fin. 

8 thoughts on “How I became a jaded man (VI)

  1. Brandi

    First let me start by saying awwwwwwww…….. Glad you posted this because I was going to ask when we were going to get the next installment. Thanks for sharing!

    Reply
  2. Jay Howard Gatsby

    “If you can force your heart and nerve and sinew to serve your turn, long after they are gone…”

    I’m a little – perhaps a lot – thankful, that this story has met a happy ending. As a Black man damn near toeing the line and about to tip over into bitterness (lol), your story shed light on a lot of things that I could personally relate to in my own experiences. I’m glad you moved past her, adapted and, instead of letting your bad experience with Stacey affect everything, you grew past it and seem to have found someone much better for you in the long run.

    This admittedly gives me hope, Brother. Thank you for sharing your story.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

