Changes

It’s been a long time I shouldn’t have left you

Without a strong blog to step to

Think of how many blogs you slept through

Time’s up, sorry I kept you.

I’ve been away from the Native Son for a while now (about 6 months) but I’m back. Since I last posted I’ve had some new developments in my life. I’ve been home in the DMV for a little over a year and I’ve enjoyed my time back. Catching up and reconnecting with family and friends has been awesome.

Just a few updates

If you know me you know that I can’t stay still for long. I’ve lived on the east coast (DC, NY) and I’ve lived in the south (TN). The only logical step now is to leave my footprints on the west coast. In less than a week I’ll officially be a resident of Oregon. I accepted a three-year (maybe less) postdoctoral position at OHSU.

One of the reasons why I fell behind on blogging was because I started a podcast called “Negros With A Podcast.” We’re about 8 episodes in. If you want to check it out search ‘NWAP’ on iTunes or click here to check out our site directly. The other Negros includes @Smooth_Orator (@realgoesright), @Fivefiths and @OleNerdyBastard. Check it out if you get the opportunity.

Since I came home last summer I’ve been serious about living a healthy lifestyle. I run 15-20 miles weekly and my average mile is down to about 7 minutes consistently. I lift at least three times a week and I’m trying to eat healthier. Keep word is trying. That’s my biggest struggle. I did have a salad, banana and water for lunch today. Only to followed by two tall Guinness’s and a plate of wings watching World Cup Soccer. I’m still going strong with the #500pushup challenge despite all the shade. I’ve also been hooping more regularly. I believe my game is getting a lot better. Can’t wait to see what cats on the West coast hoop like. Ready to kill out there.

I’m going to make a concerted effort to get back to updating my blog more consistently. Please bear with me.

It may be hard for an egg to turn into a bird: it would be a jolly sight harder for it to learn to fly while remaining an egg. We are like eggs at present. And you cannot go on indefinitely being just an ordinary, decent egg. We must be hatched or go bad.

C. S. Lewis
 

5 thoughts on “Changes

  1. gemmieboo

    congrats!!!! despite having a rough start to life back in DC after leaving NYC, things really turned around and you made some huge strides both personally and professionally. i’m happy to have been around to see the transformation, God works in mysterious ways and it certainly was interesting (though stressful!) to watch 🙂

    i wish you all the best and can’t wait to welcome you to the Landia of Port!!! *e-confetti*

    Reply
  2. belle

    I just read a few of your posts, and I will be subscribing. You are very talented, and I enjoyed your “jaded” series. I hope you plan to post more often.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

